Home Page Log in


Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)


On entry to Oaklands' in September our reception class will continue to use the EYFS curriculum. The  EYFS uses the term Learning and Development to describe seven areas of learning. These are all related to each other; however they are divided into Prime and Specific Areas.


Prime areas 
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
Specific areas 
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design


The EYFS refers to the different ways that children learn as the Characteristics of Learning:

Playing and exploring: children investigate and experience things and ‘have a go’;

Active learning: children concentrate and keep on trying if they encounter difficulties, and enjoy achievements;

Creating and thinking critically: children have and develop their own ideas, make links between ideas, and develop strategies for doing things.

Together with the Prime and Specific areas these comprise the knowledge, skills and experiences that are developmentally appropriate for children from birth to 5 years. Underpinning all areas are the EYFS Principles.


For further information please click on the link: EYFS Parents Guide (PDF)